The Next Inspector Banks Novel – Standing in the Shadows

Standing in the shadows ukThe next Inspector Banks novel, Standing in the Shadows, will be released on March 2, 2023 in the UK, and April 11, 2023 in the US.

In November 1980, Nick Hartley returns home from a university lecture to find his house crawling with police. His ex-girlfriend, Alice Poole, has been found murdered, and her new boyfriend Mark Woodley is missing. Nick is the prime suspect. The case quickly goes cold, but Nick cannot let it go. He embarks on a career in investigative journalism, determined to find Alice’s murderer—but his obsession leads him down a dangerous path.

Decades later, in November 2019, an archaeologist unearths a skeleton that turns out to be far more contemporary than the Roman remains she is seeking. Detective Superintendent Alan Banks and his team are called in to investigate, but there is little to be gleaned from the remains themselves. Left with few clues, Banks and his team must rely on their wits to hunt down a killer.

As the two cases unfurl, the investigations twist and turn to an explosive conclusion.

Read more about Standing in the Shadows.

Mystery Writers of America Summer Giveaway

The Mystery Writers of America is holding a summer giveaway, and winners will receive copies of Mystery Writers of America’s two most recent anthologies. These collections feature some of the top names in crime fiction and are perfect summer reading!

Summer rreading graphic

When a Stranger Comes to Town, edited by Michael Koryta and featuring stories by Michael Connelly, S.A. Cosby, Lisa Unger, Joe Hill, and more!

Deadly Anniversaries: Mystery Writers of America’s 75th Anniversary Anthology, edited by Marcia Muller and Bill Pronzini. Featuring stories by Peter Robinson, Sue Grafton, Lee child, Jeffery Deaver, Laurie R. King, and more!

Enter the giveaway.

Peter Robinson’s Virtual Book Tour for the New Banks Novel, Not Dark Yet

Since there are no physical events possible right now, Peter has a number of virtual events planned. When more are scheduled, they’ll be added to this list.

An evening with Peter Robinson
Harrogate International Festivals
Thursday 18th March at 7pm
Visit here to register, and to submit a question to Peter:

An evening with Peter Robinson
Hull Noir Launch Event
Friday 19th March at 7pm
Visit here to register:

An evening with Peter Robinson
Huddersfield Literature Festival
Saturday 27th March at 7pm
Booking information here:

Not Dark Yet, the new Alan Banks Novel

Not dark yet smallThe New Alan Banks novel, Not Dark Yet, is due to be published in the UK and the USA on 18th March. Here’s a description along with a first look at the cover . A list of interviews and features — mostly by Zoom or email — will follow soon.

“The investigation into the gruesome murders of Eastvale property developer Connor Clive Blaydon and his factotum Neville Roberts at Blaydon’s luxury home reveals a cache of hidden SD cards that cast the murders in an entirely different light. Instead of showing Blaydon’s murderer, the grainy and blurred footage reveals a brutal rape. If Annie and Gerry can discover the identity of the rapist and his victim, it could lead them to the whoever wanted Blaydon dead.

Meanwhile, Banks’s friend Zelda, increasingly uncertain of her future in Britain’s hostile environment, is in Chișinău looking for answers. Her search takes her back to the orphanage where her nightmare began with her abduction at the age of seventeen. A super recogniser, able to recognise and remember faces significantly better than most people, Zelda is determined to bring the men who abused her to justice. But as she stirs up the past, she and Banks soon find it has ripples that reach into the present, plunging both of them into greater danger than ever before.”

Grand Master

I’ve been thrilled this week to hear it announced that I have been awarded the Grand Master Award 2020 by the Crime Writers of Canada. This is awarded to a “crime writer with a substantial body of work who has garnered national and international recognition.” There was supposed to be a gala Awards Dinner in late May, at which the winners of the Arthur Ellis awards would be announced, along with the Grand Master, but this has been cancelled. Any celebrations will have to be carried out online.

Here’s what the Crime Writes of Canada have to say:

Since Peter Robinson’s first mystery, Gallows View, appeared in 1987, his growing readership has eagerly waited for each encounter with Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks. Now with twenty-seven of these moody and layered police procedurals, fans around the world have become attached to the complex, music-loving DCI Banks and his always-intriguing colleagues in the fictional town of Eastvale in North Yorkshire. They’ve followed Banks, his twisty cases, his career challenges and the ups and downs of his personal life with interest and affection. The series has also been adapted to television by ITV.

Peter has a shelf full of Crime Writers of Canada Arthur Ellis Awards for both best novel and for best short story. Internationally he’s been honoured by Le Grand Prix de Littérature Policière (France), the Martin Beck Award (Sweden), the Palle Rosenkrantz (Denmark), the CWA Dagger in the Library (UK), and the American Macavity, Edgar and Barry awards. In 2010, he was presented with the Crime Writers of Canada Derrick Murdoch Award for contributions to the crime genre.